Vegan MoFo, Day 6

Welp, it had to happen eventually: not every new thing I try I’m going to love. As I mentioned before, I’m not really a fan of mock-meat. My least favorite definitely has to be seitan. Well, I recently won a Taste of Oregon box from Vegan Cuts and was excited to try these Butler Foods soy curls because everyone has been raving about them. Unfortunately, I couldn’t even stomach them. I literally took a bite and spit it out 😦 They reminded me so much of that shredded, mushy texture of seitan that I despise. I know the soy curls are often used as pulled “pork” or a shredded meat but I didn’t want all of that heavy sauce and calories, so I opted to marinate them, drain, sautee in a pan with some salsa, pepper, onion and then I added tomato and kale. Looks good, right? Fail. Maybe I didn’t prepare them properly, which could be the case, but it was just too much mush for me to handle. I still have almost a whole bag so I’ll have to try again. I want to like them, though, because they’re super high in protein, low calorie, low fat and low carb but this was not a good first impression.

20130906-222919.jpg

Leave a Reply

