Vegan MoFo, Day 9

Today’s “something new” for the 9th day of Vegan MoFo comes in the form of a cookie and recipe! A lot of people ask me how I come up with my recipes or where I get them from. It usually starts with just one ingredient. For example, I wanted to make cookies but all I had on hand was coconut and chocolate. So, what I do is search Pinterest and Instagram obsessively with key terms “vegan chocolate coconut” and that usually produces huuuuuge amount of results. From there, I see what I’d like to make based on which got the best comments and reviews, as well as if I have all of the ingredients on hand. Often times, though, I don’t follow a recipe exactly and make several modifications. This then becomes a recipe I share with you all. Here, you have Chocolate Chocolate Coconut Granola Cookies. These were divine!  I served with the cookie batter and some So Delicious Vanilla Bean ice cream with chocolate syrup and coconut chips. Yum!

photo copy 2

Chocolate Chocolate Coconut Granola Cookies

  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 1 2/3 cups flour
  • 1 cup granola
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 1 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 2/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ cup shredded coconut
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. Stir all the dry ingredients together in one bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk all the wet ingredients together.
  4.  Pour the liquid into the dry ingredients bowl.
  5. Fold in the chocolate chips and coconut shreds, gently.
  6.  Spray baking sheets with nonstick spray OR use muffin tins for a more uniform look.
  7. Scoop cookies out with a small spoon, allowing about 1-2 inches between, giving them room to spread.
  8. Bake in a pre-heated 350F oven for 12-15 minutes.
  9. Serve warm, with ice cream, as pictured or enjoy individually.

*Made about 3 dozen small cookies.

Leave a Reply

