Vegan MoFo Day 12, New Product:

photo 1

I have a problem. I am addicted to nut butters. Like, stand-in-the-middle-of-the-kitchen-with-a-knife-(sometimes it’s just a finger)-and-scoop-nut-butter-straight-from-the-jar problem. I recently received my Taste of Oregon box from Vegan Cuts and it included this little gem (teehee): Jem specialty nut butter in Cinnamon Red Maca. I’ve refrained from opening it knowing full well that once I broke that seal – forget it! It would be near impossible to stick to the suggested serving size. But I opened it.

photo 2

Aaaaaaand that happened. This was good. Since I’ve never had red maca before, I didn’t know what to expect but I knew I loved cinnamon and almond butter so how bad could it be? Well, it wasn’t bad at all. In fact, the total opposite of that. First, I just had it out of the jar. Then I put it on a rice cake with some apple butter. Then I think I dipped some Swedish dark chocolate in it. It’s really a very versatile nut butter; very smooth, rich, and robust in flavor. After my sampling, I’m pretty sure I paused and thought, “I should stop….” but had one more lick and then put it away. Though the jar be small, it be MIGHTY! Really, because it’s such a rich flavor, a little goes a long way so it’s not necessarily the kind of nut butter than you’re dumping two tablespoons on something.

I’d never had red maca before so I read up on it a little bit and it’s considered a “superfood.” I red up a little more on it:

Historical and Traditional Use of Maca

The maca root has been used over the ages for its nutritional and herbal qualities. Once harvested, the maca root was traditionally dried, then powdered. Once powdered it was either eaten or put into sacs and traded for other commodities. Oftentimes cacao nibs and beans (raw chocolate) would come up the Andes from the jungle and in exchange maca would go down from the Andes into the jungle. These two foods (maca and cacao) have a unique affinity and history which is evident when one tries eating them together. Both cacao and maca were used as money by ancient indigenous peoples.

Maca’s Remarkable Reputation

Maca’s reputation as a powerful strength and stamina enhancer as well as libido-enhancing food-herb stretches back into prehistory. Maca, like goji berries and ginseng, is a powerful adaptogen, which means it has the ability to balance and stabilize the body’s systems (cardiovascular system, nervous system, musculature, lymphatic system, etc.). As an adaptogen, maca can provide more energy if it is needed, but if it is not, it will not overstimulate. Adaptogens also boost immunity and increase the body’s overall vitality by 10-15% according to most studies. Rather than addressing a specific symptom, adaptogens are used to improve the overall adaptability of the whole body to diverse and challenging situations and stress.

Wow! That’s some powerful stuff with a long history! I’m pretty curious to try using some in my smoothies. You can buy some here.

In the meantime, Jem does sell other nut butters which I’m VERY eager to try:  Chocolate Hazelnut Spread (OMG), Coconut Cardamom Almond Butter (HOLYSHIT), Maqui Camu Super Berry Butter (WTF IS THAT??!?! I don’t care, I know I want it!).   All of their products are raw, organic and made from stone grinders (whoa) in Oregon. They currently have a KickStarter funding page to help support this delicious endeavor so check it out and let me know if you’ve tried any of their other flavors and what you paired it with!

Vegan MoFo, Day 12

Leave a Reply

