Almendrados (Almond Cookies)

Almendrados are a flourless almond cookie from my hometown in Portugal, Aveiro. Even though I’m Portuguese I was never a huge fan of the food (probably why going vegan wasn’t so hard) but I do very much miss our amazing pastries. Unfortunately, every single thing has like 28730372515 eggs in it. These are SO good and so simple!

66107cde583c11e3ab4c12ca54d8f342_8

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups almond meal
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • a little less than 1tbs freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1tbs warm water
  • dash of salt
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 Ener-G egg
  • 12 whole blanched almonds

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Follow the directions for the EnerG egg and set aside for about five minutes. (It’s important to give this enough time to set.)
  3. Sift together the almond meal, sugar, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl. Add the lemon juice, water and egg.
  4. Stir until the dough begins to form a ball. (This will take a couple of minutes and you’ll wonder how in the world it will happen but before you know it, you will have dough!)
  5. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick spray.
  6. Shape the dough into 12 little balls and flatten them on the cookie tray, about an inch apart, with a little indentation in the middle.
  7. Sprinkle with cinnamon.
  8. Gently press one whole almond into the center of the cookie.
  9. Bake for 15 minutes, EXACTLY, the edges will be a golden brown. DO NOT OVERBAKE!!! When you take them out, the centers will be slightly mushy. You will even think they are not cooked but PLEASE trust me, they will harden.
  10. Cool them on the pans for about 5 minutes then use a spatula and move to wire racks.

ba6480985c2211e3a13f12befe090f9c_8

9 thoughts on “Almendrados (Almond Cookies)

  1. Hmmmm…I think a flax egg would probably be better than a chia egg but I think it’s worth a try! It’s a pretty small quantity or even cut it in half, to do a test run!

  2. “I think a flax egg would probably be better than a chia egg” – why do you think that is (she asked, in a “want to understand the physics of baking better” way, not a “totally questioning your knowledge” kind of way)? I’m trying to limit buying things w limited use – for both financial reasons and space/storage reasons (!). I wish there was One Thing That Was a *Vegan* Egg that could be used across the board in any kind of recipe (said the slightly lazy/cheap baker).

    I do think I’ll give it a try w the chia and let you know. What’s the worst that happens? The dog gets cookies?!?

  3. I was going to say, even if it doesn’t work out – you’ll have a mushy almondy mess that you could throw in a bowl, heat, spoon some ice cream on and call it a day :). I say no to chia bc they’re not finely ground and bc the dry ingredients are all powder like, I don’t think the chia seeds will hold everything together. I totally hear you on have all these different things, too! I have flax chia and EnerG but I use them all for different things. Actually, I’ve never baked with chia so I’m only taking a guess as to why it wouldn’t work but, again, worst cause you just have some deformed dough. No biggie 🙂 and you could probably always mush it into a raw crust or something too and turn it into a pie if it doesn’t work out

Leave a Reply

